New York Defensive Driving Online
Defensive Driving Course New York – FAQ's
Is this course approved by the New York DMV?
Yes, the Internet Point and Insurance Reduction Program (IPIRP) course that we offer was developed by Driver Training Associates, Inc. and is fully approved by the New York DMV as an equivalent to the 6-hour classroom PIRP course.
How long is the defensive driving course, New York?
The New York DMV requires that each IPIRP course be at least six hours long. Timers are in place to ensure that each student spends the required minimum amount of time in the course.
What topics are covered in the course?
The IPIRP course teaches important defensive driving strategies, how driver attitude and behavior affect traffic safety, and New York State traffic laws.
Is the entire course online?
Yes, the entire course is online. You will not have to drive to a DMV office or defensive driving school location for any reason.
Will I receive proof that I completed the course?
Yes, after you complete the course, a certificate of completion will be processed and delivered to you. You will need to turn this certificate in to your insurance company to obtain your 10% discount. Your completion will also be reported electronically to the DMV.
How is the auto insurance reduction applied?
When you complete the defensive driving course in New York, you receive a certificate of completion that must be turned in to your auto insurance company. When they receive your proof of completion, a minimum 10% reduction will be applied to the base rate of the insurance premiums of your liability and collision insurance. This insurance reduction will remain in effect for three years and you may renew it after each 3-year period has ended.
Will the course also reduce "insurance points"?
The point reduction benefit only applies to driving record points that are assigned by the DMV. Insurance companies have a separate set of points that they use to determine your rates. Taking the IPIRP course for point reduction will not have any effect on the points your insurance company assigns for crashes or violations. Also, taking the IPIRP course will not prevent or reduce the calculation of points affecting a "Driver Responsibility Assessment."
How soon will the insurance reduction be applied?
The processing and delivery of your certificate of completion will begin immediately after you have passed the defensive driving course. When you receive your certificate, present it to your auto insurance provider or agent within 90 days and your liability and collision premium reduction will begin immediately. The discount will be applied retroactive to the date you completed the course. If you wait longer than 90 days to turn in your certificate, your insurer might just issue the premium discount effective from the date you present your certificate.
How often can I take the course for an auto insurance reduction?
The course can be taken once every 36 months (i.e. three years) for this purpose. You can take the course as many times as you wish to maintain your insurance discount.
Will this course prevent my auto insurance rate from increasing?
No, the 3-year, 10% insurance reduction applies to the base rate that is in effect at the time you complete the course, but taking the course will not prevent general premium increases or an increase in rates caused by crashes or violations.
Does the discount apply to other drivers named on my policy?
The insurance premium reduction applies to all motor vehicles principally operated by the motorist who completes the course. The reduction can be applied to only one driver for each covered vehicle.
Do teen drivers who participate in assigned risk pool receive the insurance discount?
Yes. The discount applies to any insured driver who completes the course and is listed as the principal operator. That driver must have a driver's license, not a learner's permit.
Can a teen driver receive the insurance reduction while also receiving a driver ed discount?
This is determined by your insurance company or agent. Please contact them to determine whether an additional discount is to be granted.
What is meant by "point reduction"?
Point reduction means that the New York DMV will not count up to four points on your driving record toward license suspension or revocation. Point reduction can only be applied to points you received within the 18 months prior to completing the course, and it cannot be used as "credit" toward points from future tickets.
Point reduction will not reduce your point total lower than zero. For example, if you have three points on your record and you take the IPIRP course for point reduction, your total after completing the course will be zero.
How often can the course be taken for point reduction?
The course can only be taken once in any 18-month period for point reduction.
Do I have to notify the DMV to get my point reduction?
No, you do not have to notify the DMV. The course sponsor, Driver Training Associates, will notify the DMV once you have completed the course. The DMV will then note your completion on your driving record and will reduce your active point total by up to four points.
How many points will this course reduce on my New York driving record?
The course will reduce up to 4 points on your record. The actual number of points reduced will be determined by the DMV computer.
How does the course affect an already suspended / revoked license, or a pending suspension?
If your license has already been revoked or suspended, or if a violation hearing has already been scheduled, point reduction will not affect that action.
Will completing the IPIRP drivers training course, New York remove violations or convictions from my driving record?
No. Your driving record will continue to show most violations, convictions, and the points associated with them for up to four years. Violations and convictions for drug or alcohol-related offenses will remain on your driving record for ten years.
What do I do if I never received a certificate of completion?
If you did not receive a certificate after completing the course, please contact the course sponsor, Driver Training Associates, at 1-800-558-9887.
How will I know that I received credit for taking the course?
You can request a copy of your driving record to verify that you have received credit for the course.
How can I get a copy of my New York driving record?
This can be requested from the New York DMV. Simply complete form MV-15 ("Request for Driver and / or Vehicle Record Information"), which can be obtained at any New York State motor vehicle office. This form can also be downloaded from the DMV internet office. If your course completion has not been noted on your driving record more than ten weeks after you completed the course, please contact Driver Training Associates, the course sponsor, at 1-800-558-9887.
More PIRP Course Information
Please consult the New York DMV's C-32A brochure for complete information about the Point Insurance Reduction Program (PIRP).